In ancient Egypt people believed in the mystical power of diamonds. When four diamond rings were worn on four fingers of the left hand it would ensure that vena amoris (“vein of love“) would lead from the fingers straight to the heart. Placing diamonds or diamond powder on fingertips was believed to be the best way of ensuring the connection of love with eternity.
They were considered to be a mysterious rarity with magical and healing properties. In ancient Greek diamonds were considered to be the tears of gods which fell down to earth. To point out the hardness of diamonds people used to name them “adamas” (invincible).

At Brightcut, we have the same beliefs and, out of all precious stones, we celebrate Diamond the most. The superb quality of every diamond we choose for our jewelry or bridal pieces is the result of strict quality standards and obsession with beautiful diamonds and its extensive history. Our craftsmen see the beauty of each and every diamond, and work with precision and passion to unleash its vibrancy and intensity.  

Brightcut chooses its diamonds using the universal standard certification by GIA (Gemological Institute of America). This ensures that we use the high-quality diamonds, by being extremely selective through the GIA criteria knows as 4C’s: “Color, Clarity, Cut and Carat weight”.

Every diamond of more than 0.50 carats comes with a GIA certificate and an individual certificate number engraved on the stone. Invisible to the naked eye, this engraving and certification guarantees the authenticity of each diamond. Diamonds are selected among those with D, E, F and G/H color and IF to VS2-SI2 clarity,

Except the traditional 4Cs criteria, we like to choose stones that have ‘character’ and ‘nobility’ in them. We believe stones can bring emotions with their brilliance, sparkle and fire.

This guide defines the essential characteristics of the diamonds quality. By understanding these qualities, you will be able to shop with confidence.



A diamond’s cut is chosen according to the stone’s original shape, its dimensions and inclusions. Cut indicates both the proportions of the diamond cut, the shape and angles that are given to the stone. The cut is important as it determines the refraction of light and as a result the stone's maximum brilliance and sparkle.

A diamond’s cut determines how it interacts with light, creating captivating visual effects, like...

  • Brightness: The internal and external ‘white light’ that reflects from a diamond

  • Fire: The dispersion of "white light" into the colors of the rainbow

  • Scintillation: Also known as sparkle, the pattern of light and dark achieved by reflections within the diamon5

Cuts copy.png


Diamond Cut Types - Grading Scale

When grading the cut of a diamond, the grading laboratories, like GIA, consider the craftsmanship of the diamond, such as the weight relative to breadth, girdle thickness (which affects durability), the symmetry of the facet arrangement, and polishing quality. At Brightcut, we use the most 'standardized' scale according to Gemological Institute of America.

Ideal: A desirable and rare cut that reflects nearly all light that enters the diamond.

Excellent: Reflects nearly as much light as the ideal cut, also very desirable.

Very Good: Reflects most of the light that enters the diamond. Priced much lower than an Ideal cut.

Good: Still a quality diamond, but a good cut will not be as brilliant as a very good, excellent or ideal cut.

Fair (Poor): Diamonds with a cut of fair or poor are typically cut deep and narrow or shallow and wide causing them to lose most of the light out the sides and bottom. Brightcut does not carry diamonds with cut grades of fair or poor.



Diamond’s clarity is used to measure how pure and rare the stone is, graded by the visibility of these characteristics under 10 - time magnifier. A diamond’s clarity is determined by the number, size and position of inclusions (internal flaws left by nature) and blemishes (external surface imperfections). The clarity scale developed by GIA standards ranks diamonds from FL (completely flawless) to I3 (with inclusions visible to the naked eye). The number and position of inclusions are shown in the diamond's certificate.


FL, IF - Flawless, Internally FlawlessFL: No visible blemishesIF: Very slight blemishes

VVS1, VVS2 - Very, Very Slightly IncludedVVS1: Few miniscule inclusionsVVS2: Slightly more miniscule inclusions

VS1, VS2 - Very Slightly IncludedVS1: Difficult to see minor inclusionsVS2: Somewhat easier to see minor inclusions

S1, S2 - Slightly IncludedS1: Inclusions occasionally visibleS2: Inclusions visible from the pavilion and the top

I1, I2, I3 - IncludedI1: Inclusions are obviousI2,I3: Not offered by Brightcut

Diamond Cut examples.png


Diamond color is the second most important thing, after the diamond’s cut, to consider when purchasing a diamond. Color is the first thing the eye notices after sparkle. The diamond’s color refers to its lack of color: less color a diamond has, the higher the diamond color grade. Brightcut only offers diamonds with grades of Colorless (grades D-F) or Near-Colorless (grades G-J), on a diamond color scale.

D - Absolutely Colorless  /  E- F - Colorless / G - H - Near Colorless / I - J - Near Colorless / K - M - Faint Yellow /

N - R - Very Light Yellow / S - Z - Light Yellow

Fancy colored diamonds

Fancy colored diamonds are not graded on the same scale as colorless diamonds and are rarer, making them more valuable and expensive.



Carat is the universally-recognized unit of measurement referring to the diamond’s weight.  Greater the diamond's weight, more valuable it is. However, carat weight does not determine a diamond’s value without the three other criteria of color, cut and clarity.  

Diamond Carat Sizes - Grading Scale

Each diamond or gem is individually weighed to determine that stones carat weight. On the metric scale, 1 carat is equivalent to 200 milligrams, or 0.2 grams.

While carat weight can impact the value of a diamond, it’s important to understand that two diamonds of the same weight may have drastically different values. This is because a diamond’s value takes into account all of the 4Cs, not just carat weight.


Diamond shapes refer to the form or general outline of a diamond. There are multiple diamond cuts used for different pieces of jewelry: round brilliant cut diamonds, oval diamonds, marquise diamonds, pear shaped diamonds, heart shaped diamonds, princess cut diamonds, carré cut diamonds, radiant cut diamonds, emerald cut diamonds, tapered diamonds, cushion cut diamonds, baguette diamonds, rose cut diamonds.

These cuts have been designed so as to maximize the reflection of light on the stone’s facets: this way, the diamond shines and sparkles at its best. 

Other Fancy diamond shapes are: Trilliant/Triangle, Baguette, Half Moon, Kite, Old European, Old Mine Cut, and Trapezoid.